John T. Conway, Chairman A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman Joseph J. DiNunno Herbert John Cecil Kouts John E. Mansfield

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

99-0000178

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 208-6400



January 21, 1999

The Honorable Bill Richardson Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Richardson:

Since the establishment of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board), Board Members and staff have interacted closely with many levels of the Department of Energy's (DOE) organization, and thus has had the opportunity to observe the performance of many DOE employees in the process of establishing safety culture and enhanced safety management programs. Based on these observations, the Board believes that DOE is making steady and admirable progress in achieving safety goals. Often, we have observed, this progress has been made more rapidly when a single individual in DOE came forward to exercise admirable leadership, which then expedited DOE's efforts to achieve these safety goals.

The Board believes such individual leadership is an important mechanism for progress toward our mutual end of a productive and safe DOE complex, and that individuals that provide such leadership should be recognized and praised for their achievements. Accordingly, the Board decided to establish an award, to be given from time to time but no more than annually, to an employee of the Department of Energy who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in promoting safety management. The award will be called "The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board Safety Leadership Award."

The Board unanimously determined that the first award, for 1999, would be given to Victor Stello, Jr., recently retired Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Safety and Quality, Office of Defense Programs.

I hope that you will inform DOE employees of the establishment of this award, and that it has been bestowed on Mr. Stello.

Sincerely. John T. Conway

Chairman

c: Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.